Dramatic Makeup – Plum Smokey Eye

Happy Thursday, folks! Today I have a fun post for you, which is my go-to dramatic makeup look! I love this look because it’s pretty easy and it pairs nicely with all different outfits, but it looks so good.

IMG_1022

I start by prepping my face with the Benefit Total Moisture Facial Creme, Benefit POREfessional primer, and E.L.F. Shadow Lock eyelid primer in pearl, as always.

IMG_1024

After primer, I color correct with the Maybelline MasterCamo Color Correcting Kit in the shade 100. I use the yellow tone under my eyes to cover dark circles and the green tone on any red areas and spots.

IMG_1025

IMG_0994

Next I use the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser concealer to cover up all the areas that I’ve color corrected, as well as any other areas that are less red. This product is advertised as an under-eye concealer, but it works really well as a full coverage full face concealer as well.

IMG_1026

IMG_0995

I blend out the concealer really well, and then set it with my NYX HD Studio Photogenic Setting Powder. I have a love-hate relationship with this product, as it works really well and prevents creasing but I don’t like the packaging and I have trouble using it. I tend to only use it for big, dramatic looks like this when I want my makeup to stay and look flawless.

IMG_0996

IMG_1028

After setting my concealer, I go in with foundation. I used the L’Oreal Infallible Total Cover 24 Hour foundation in the shade 301. I love this foundation for long-wear because it’s light and only requires a small amount but is very full coverage and doesn’t crease.

Next up I do my eyebrows. I use a matte brown pressed eyeshadow with a small angled brush for my brows. My favorite is from an old Maybelline quad.

IMG_0998

IMG_1029

And then I moved on to the eyes. For this look, I used my two favorite eyeshadow palettes, the Colourpop Mile High collection and the Covergirl TruNaked Nudes.

IMG_1030

IMG_1036

I started by using the Colourpop shade Truth on my lid as a base.

IMG_1032

IMG_1052

Next, I used the Colourpop shadow in Mittens in my outer corner.

IMG_1033
IMG_1053

After blending that out, I used the Covergirl shadow Cocoa to pull the color into my crease.

IMG_1037

IMG_1002

Next I used the Colourpop shadow Cricket on my outer lid.

IMG_1034

IMG_1003

I then used the Colourpop shadow in LA LA, which is a coppery shade, in the middle of my lid. This was to bring in a warmer tone as well as some intense glitter.

IMG_1035

IMG_1004

After covering the middle of my lid, I use the Covergirl shade Champagne on my entire lid, but focusing on the inner lid.

IMG_1038

IMG_1005

Next I used Covergirl shade Buff to highlight my inner corners and brow bone and the shade Sable on the outer half of my lower lash line and waterline.

IMG_1039

IMG_1040

After lining my lower lash line, I used the Benefit They’re Real! Push Up Liner to line my upper lash line and create a small wing. I personally like a smaller wing when I’ve done a lot of eyeshadow.

IMG_1041

IMG_1006

After eyeliner, I curl my lashes and put on my Benefit Roller Lash mascara. I love this mascara because it gives me such beautiful long lashes that I don’t feel the need to wear fake lashes.

IMG_1042

IMG_1007

And I’m done with eyes! Moving on to contour, I use the NYX Wonder Stick contour end to begin contouring under my cheek bones, chin, and forehead.

IMG_1046

IMG_1047

I dot it on where I want it, and then blend it out with a flat topped buffing brush.

Next up I use the Hoola Bronzer in my Benefit Real Cheeky Party palette to add more warmth to the same areas I used the creme contour.

IMG_1015

I then use the Rockateur blush (also in the Real Cheeky Party Palette) on my cheek bones. This is my absolute favorite intense pink blush. It’s so pink and absolutely gorgeous!

IMG_1017

Now it’s time for highlighter! I start by applying the NYX Born to Glow Liquid Illuminator in LI01 Sunbeam to all the places I’m going to highlight.

IMG_1018

Then I grab my NYX Strobe of Genius Illuminating Palette and use the bottom three shades in different combinations on different areas of my face. I like to layer these colors because it gives a very dewy finish.

IMG_1020

IMG_1021

The last step is to apply my Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip liquid lipstick in Time Square! This is a gorgeous brown tone nude that stays for ever and is so flattering.

IMG_1023

And that’s it! If you liked this look or you want to see more makeup looks from me, let me know! I love makeup so I’m always willing to share (: Thank you so much for reading and I’ll see you on Sunday!

 

One thought on “Dramatic Makeup – Plum Smokey Eye

Leave a Reply

