My Skincare Routine

I have been battling acne since I was in fifth grade. I’ve gone through several phases and treatments, and I’ve finally gotten to the point that I’m not getting extractions every other week or using prescription face wash and spot treatment.

I’m lucky that I went through acne when I was young, and now my acne is entirely hormone based. It’s like a nice little gift once a month. Thankfully, I’ve learned how to handle my breakouts.

The most important thing for my skin is to have a consistent routine. Whether I’m breaking out or not I always do the same routine, and that helps my breakouts be more mild. Today I’d like to present my nightly skincare routine.

1. Exfoliate with St. Ives Apricot Scrub


This scrub is amazing. It is specifically designed to target blemishes, and it’s super exfoliating. I like starting out with this scrub to get rid of all the dirt and dead skin that has built up on my skin throughout the day.

Warning: this stuff has a very intense grit to it. I’ve had many people tell me it irritated their skin, or that they couldn’t bear to put it on. I love the intense exfoliation, but you’ve been warned.

2. Cleanse with Clean and Clear Essentials Facial Cleanser


This cleanser forms a super thick, foamy lather that I love. I have to admit, I bought this because it was the first product I saw AND it came in a pack with the next product and I love a good deal, but I will definitely be buying this cleanser again. It almost stings, which feels like intense cleansing to me.

3. Tone with Clean and Clear Essentials Astringent


I feel as though toner is the part of a good skincare routine that gets overlooked too often. It’s great to clear out your pores, but leaving them open leads to the opportunity for more dirt to get into them. This astringent closes up your pores, and I’ve definitely seen my pores shrink since I started using it.

4. Moisturize with Cetaphil Oil Control Moisturizer


There are so many great things about this moisturizer. It’s targeted at acne-prone skin, it has SPF 30, and it softens your skin. This is the only product I’ve been using since I first started a real skincare routine, and I will defend it to the end of time. (I also use this product every morning!)

5. Treat with Neutrogena Stubborn Acne Spot Treatment


This product truly works wonders. It claims to reduce redness and size in 2 hours and I fully believe it. I use this on any blemishes or redness and typically see a dramatic decrease by morning.

6. Top it off with Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm

Another overlooked skincare product? Lip balm. Invest in a good one. This lip balm is a classic and it’s crazy moisturizing. Plus it’s all natural! Save the bees!

A good skincare routine can work wonders. It’s all about consistency and finding the right products for you.

Do you have any skincare favorites? Use any of these products? I’d love to hear from you!

One thought on “My Skincare Routine

Leave a Reply

