BuJo Feature: March

My life is pretty crazy, especially at this time of year. This is the point at which I always find myself abandoning my organizational system and everything gets turned upside down. It’s a wonder I’ve made it this far.

This year I have been using the bullet journal system, and it’s working really well. I’ve kept consistent journals since September, and I’ve found what works and how to keep myself organized. I find my bujo to be a really handy thing.

I thought I would put the spotlight on a couple of key aspects to my bullet journal, as a way of (hopefully) enlightening some of you. Bullet journaling can seem very daunting, but I’m hoping this will take away some of the possible grief that comes with trying to plan your own bujo for yourself.

This is how I plan out my monthly spread.

I have strayed from the traditional monthly spread of the bullet journal. If you don’t know, they are typically a list of dates, but I’ve found that it doesn’t give me enough space for days that I may have a very packed day. So I’ve chosen to design my own calendar. As you may be able to tell, I’ve played around with styles and I’ve landed on one that works.

bujo 1.JPG

My first step is to draw out a grid with a ruler in pencil. My bullet journal has completely blank pages, so it’s really important that I do this step, or I’ll end up with uneven lines and things will be crooked. I measure everything out to the millimeter. No, I’m not joking.

bujo-3

Next I trace the lines in pen, and add dates and days of the week. This month I decided to let myself be a little bit messy and have some wobbly lines. It’s all about the ~aesthetic~

bujo-2.jpg

The last thing I do is decorate! I added the title (March Monthly), traced over the lines in highlighter, added events, appointments, and due dates, and of course included some stickers. I get all of my stickers from target and they all match and they make me happy.

This isn’t the only way to make a monthly spread. I just know that this works for me. If you’re interested in bullet journaling, I encourage you to try different styles out and find what works for you.

The best thing about bullet journaling is that you’re really free to do whatever you want. It encourages embracing your mistakes (see my sticker alignment above…) and being creative in new ways. I recommend trying it out.

Leave a Reply

