Music of the Month – February

I love music. I listen to a lot of it, and my favorites change all the time. Because of this, I decided to make monthly playlists this year. Here are my favorite artists, albums, and songs of February 2017.

saintmotelevision

Artist: Saint Motel

Album: saintmotelevision

Song: Happy Accidents

I’ve known this album (and artist) for a while now, but I definitely got back into them this past month. There are so many bops on this album, but Happy Accidents is a bit more meaningful.

oh-wonder

Artist: Oh Wonder

Album: Oh Wonder

Song: Landslide

Again, Oh Wonder is a long-time favorite of mine. I’ve listened to this album consistently for about a year and a half and I swear it never gets old. Landslide never truly called to me until recently, but it’s a beautiful masterpiece. I love it.

the-family-jewels

Artist: Marina and the Diamonds

Album: The Family Jewels

Song: Obsessions

I love Marina. Her style and voice are amazing. The Family Jewels has always been my favorite album of hers, and Obsessions is such a good song.

blue film.jpg

Artist: Lo Fang

Album: Blue Film

Song: #88

Okay, there’s a recurring theme here. February was all about rediscovery of old artists. If you don’t know Lo Fang, he’s an amazing alternative artist who hasn’t released anything since 2014 (‘: Blue Film is a piece of art, and #88 is incredible. Look him up. You won’t regret it.

zombies on broadway.jpg

Artist: Andrew McMahon and the Wilderness

Album: Zombies on Broadway

Song: Brooklyn, You’re Killing Me

Before you tell me you’ve never heard of Andrew McMahon, I’d like you to think of the song Cecilia and the Satellite. That is an Andrew McMahon song. However, his new album is not much like that song. Zombies on Broadway is more poppy than his earlier stuff, but I’m kind of obsessed. Brooklyn, You’re Killing Me features some killer Twenty One Pilots-style rap. It’s epic.

halloway

Artist: Tessa Violet

Album: Halloway

Song: Haze

Tessa is a youtuber-singer/songwriter, and I love her. She’s friends with Dodie Clark, who is one of my all-time favorites, and I have no idea why it took me so long to get into Tessa. Her alt-pop is beautiful and suits her voice so well and I cry daily.

Leave a Reply

